The Underrated Point-n-Shoot (P&S) Camera

The King

Digital photography for me began with a really humbe looking 4-megapixel Canon PowerShot s45 point-n-shoot digicam that cost me $800 in 2004. (Compare this to the fact that today you can get DSLRs for $600). And this was followed by a marginally better 5-megapixel Canon PowerShot A95 P&S.  But I had clicked about 5000 pictures with just the s45 in only a couple of months. I thought why not share a few glimpses of what it is capable of doing. Note the following pictures are not even edited for cropping, color, temperature adjustments, etc. They are as is from the camera and in just jpeg format.  I hope at the end of it I can convince you that the camera you have right now in your hand is the best equipment for you to do photography!

Still life setup with the camera on a tiny tripod and the only source of light is the candle

The King

The King (taken with Canon S45)

Here is another one with just the candle lights and two beautiful glass swans.

Love is ..

Love is blind.. (Canon S45)

Point and shoot cameras are often disreputed for not being good for low light photography. Here is one at The Eat Street, Hyderabad

Merry-go-Round

Merry-go-Round (Canon S45)

and this one at Durgam Cheruvu, Hyderabad

Friends in the dark (Canon s45)

At the correct angle and even in mid-day sun at the right angles you can even shoot the flowers

Sun flower

Sun flower (Canon s45)

Lotus (Canon s45)

Lotus (Canon s45)

And sunset also – here is my daughter fascinated more by the thumbs up than the setting sun

My daughter

My daughter (Canon A95)

.. and I can go on. The passion for photography is never limited by camera at hand, but it seeks to overcome & challenge the limitation posed by the equipment at hand.

Happy Clicking!

Comments
7 Responses to “The Underrated Point-n-Shoot (P&S) Camera”
  1. the278thword says:

    Colours are awesome in the pictures

  2. Perfect answers for those who blame their cameras for improper photographs.

  3. nimisha says:

    thnk u naveen for share dis link

  4. shail says:

    I have to agree with you. These are some awesome pics you have taken. 🙂 But I have yet to get the night shots right. 😦

  5. Beautiful pictures. I am hoping that the new camera I have is all I need 🙂

Leave a Reply

